February 2019 Newsletter

Dear Parents,

Inset Day:

School will be closed on Monday 1st July for Inset.

Parents’ Evening:

Parents’ evenings are on Tuesday 19th and Wednesday 20th March. Letters to book appointments will be sent out the week before.

World Book Day:

On Thursday 7th March, it is World Book Day. Children can dress up as a book character of their choice to celebrate this day.

Easter Events;

On Thursday 11th April, we will hold our annual Easter Egg Hunt. All the children will participate in Houses and hopefully the weather will be kind to us so we can search the grounds for eggs!

Easter egg Decorating:

This is a real favourite for the children. The children (if they wish) can decorate an egg at home for our Annual Easter Egg decorating competition. It can be mounted on or in a background but NO larger than a shoe box. Have fun and try to be as creative as you can. Age categories will be Key Stage 1: 1st, 2nd and 3rd place, Key Stage 2: 1st, 2nd and 3rd place and an overall winner. It needs to be the children’s work! Judging is on Thursday 11th April so eggs needs to be brought in that morning.

Many thanks to FoS for providing the prizes for both the egg decorating competition and the Easter egg hunt.

Sheffield Archer Project:

Thank you for everybody who donated items for the Sheffield Archer Project. We collected over 20 bags of essential items to help the homeless people of Sheffield. My neighbour and I drove with a car full of bags just after Christmas. They were all very grateful for the donations. They also sent me a letter and asked me to pass their thanks on.

Thank you again Emily Lewis

TASC February Half Term Programme

TASC’s Holiday Club will be open during half-term on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, from 8am to 6pm. All welcome!

Tuesday 19th February: Baking Day – Making delicious flapjacks and cookies and decorating them.

Wednesday 20th February: National Nest Box Week – Making bird feeders and doing bird crafts, as the UK’s birds – from blue tits to barn owls – are starting to pair up ahead of the breeding season.

Thursday 21st February: Trip to Peak Adventure Soft Play Area – Come to the soft play area and have fun. Transport will be on a Bakewell & Eyam Community Transport (BECT) minibus.

For booking and further information, please contact TASC on 07792 075 486 or email tideswellafterschoolclub@gmail.com

Dates for Diary:

Friday 15th February – Class 1/2 assembly

18/2/19 – 22/2/19 – Half Term week

Monday 25th February – Return to school

Thursday 7th March –World Book Day

Tuesday 19th & Wednesday 20th March – Parents evenings

Thursday 28th March – Y5/6 Hockey Festival at Tideswell

Thursday 4th April – Reception assembly (DATE Changed)

Thursday 11th April – Easter Egg Hunt

Thursday 11th April – Egg Decorating Competition

Friday 12th April – Easter Service in Church (Family and friends welcome to join us)

Monday 15th April – Friday 26th April – Easter Break

Monday 29th April – Children return to school

Monday 6th May – Bank Holiday

Monday 13th May – Friday 17th May – KS2 SATS

Friday 17th May – Class 3/4 Assembly

Monday 27th May – Friday 31st May – Half term holidays

Monday 3rd June – Children return to school

Wednesday 5th June – Friday 7th June – Y5/6 Residential

Tuesday 18th June – Book People Bus visiting all day

Tuesday 25th June – Sports Afternoon

Monday 1st July – Inset day

Monday 8th July – KS2 show dress rehearsal

Tuesday 9th July – KS2 show (starts 6.30pm)

Wednesday 10th July – KS2 show (starts 6.30pm)

Friday 19th July – Leavers Service 9.15am in St. John’s Church

Lynne Kilford

Headteacher